I Know You Want It

Alright, alright. I know I’m late in the game on this one, but I just saw the “Blurred Lines” video for the first time and ohhhhhh my goodness. At the risk of sounding like an obsessive uptight feminist, that video made me so very uncomfortable, a little (a lot) bit angry, and quite humored at the outrageousness of it all.

Disclaimer: I will admit that this song is so very catchy and I will probably dance to it any time it is playing in my presence.

But, when I saw this video, particularly when I saw Robin Thicke’s creepy ass pervert stare-down of these models while whispering to them “I know you want it… you know you want it…”,  I couldn’t help but remember that time.

“I know you want it.” Well. I didn’t, sir. And I was able to push you away from me without any damage taking place, but it only took me saying, “no. no. NO.” for you to get the picture that, no, the lines are not actually blurred ,they are very clear. And for one in four women my age, the story has a much darker ending. Which is why, when I was shown this women’s parody of Thicke’s misogynistic debut, I was thrilled.

This video is the perfect reminder that we have agency, and with things like Youtube, we have more agency than ever before. We can all be heard, especially if we are clever enough to get our voices out there in an entertaining way. These women are not saying we should objectify men the way women are objectified- they are showing through this overly-exagerated video of men on leashes, etc, that the hyper-sexualized objectification in Thick e and Pharrel’s video is just as ridiculous.

 

Leave a Reply

